3.0 (Initial Talk release)#

  • audio - audio is supported
  • video - video + screensharing is supported
  • chat - simple text chat is supported, superseded by chat-v2

3.1#

  • guest-signaling - Guests can do signaling via api endpoints
  • empty-group-room - Group conversations can be created without inviting a Nextcloud user group by default

3.2#

  • guest-display-names - Display names of guests are stored in the database, can be set via API (not WebRTC only) and are used on returned comments/participants/etc.
  • multi-room-users - Users can be in multiple conversations at the same time now, therefor signaling now also requires the conversation token on the URL.
  • chat-v2 - Chat messages are now Rich Object Strings and pagination is available, the previous chat is not available anymore.

4.0#

  • favorites - Conversations can be marked as favorites which will pin them to the top of the conversation list.
  • last-room-activity - Conversations have the lastActivity attribute and should be sorted by that instead of the last ping of the user.
  • no-ping - The ping endpoint has been removed. Ping is updated with a call to fetch the signaling or chat messages instead.
  • system-messages - Chat messages have a systemMessage attribute and can be generated by the system
  • mention-flag - The conversation list populates the boolean unreadMention when the user was mentioned since their last visit
  • in-call-flags - A new flag participantFlags has been introduced and is replacing the participantInCall boolean.

5.0#

  • invite-by-mail - Replaced by invite-groups-and-mails Guests can be invited with their email address
  • notification-levels - Users can select when they want to be notified in conversations
  • invite-groups-and-mails - Groups can be added to existing conversations via the add participant endpoint

6.0#

  • locked-one-to-one-rooms - One-to-one conversations are now locked to the users. Neither guests nor other participants can be added, so the options to do that should be hidden as well. Also a user can only leave a one-to-one conversation (not delete). It will be deleted when the other participant left too. If the other participant posts a new chat message or starts a call, the left-participant will be re-added.
  • read-only-rooms - Conversations can be in read-only mode which means people can not do calls or write chat messages.

7.0#

  • chat-read-marker - The chat can be optionally marked read by clients manually, independent from the loading of the chat messages.
  • webinary-lobby - See Webinary management for technical details.
  • start-call-flag - Only moderators or users might be able to start calls.

8.0#

  • chat-replies - Normal chat messages can now be replied to. Check the isReplyable parameter on the message object.